Canada Cup

Canada Cup

Canada Cup Floorball Championship je mezinárodní florbalový turnaj, který se odehrává každý rok v Torontu v Canadě

KATEGORIE: Dospělí - muži
Ročník turnaje
Datum zahájení
Datum ukončení

Více informací o turnaji

The Canada Cup Floorball Championship, more commonly referred to as the Canada Cup, is an international open club tournament held each May in Toronto.  Founded by Juha Mikkola in 2004 at the University of Toronto, the Canada Cup was the first tournament of its kind in Canada and is the biggest floorball competition outside of Europe.  
From the beginning, the passionate group of tournament organizers sought to create not just a tournament, but an event that celebrates floorball and introduces the sport to the uninitiated as well as bringing together those already playing.
The success of the first two Canada Cups – both won by NYC Floorball from New York – set the stage for the 2006 edition, which was a turning point in the evolution of the tournament.  The event doubled in size from 12 to 24 teams, but most importantly, it saw the participation of elite players from Europe and the introduction of youth teams.  The showcasing of top talent and an emphasis on youth development have been staples of the Canada Cup ever since.  
Each succeeding year since has brought additional milestones.  In 2007, the tournament partnered with Rogers Television to broadcast the Elite final across southern Ontario – the first time a floorball game had ever been televised in North America.  The 2008 event saw the debut of the first-ever Ladies’ Division and multiple floorball rinks under one roof at the host venue at York University – another North American first.  
TJ Sokol Jaromer made history in 2009 as the first team from the Czech Republic to participate, and they did not disappoint, going all the way to the Elite Division final before losing a close but thrilling match to Xstream IBK, whose roster featured stars such as Swede Alexander Nede and his compatriot, Daniel Dalbjer.  That year also marked the introduction of the High School Division, won by the Centre Dufferin Royals.    
In 2010, the Canada Cup welcomed its first European youth team, the Skogsäng Cobras from Sweden, and in 2011 we were honoured to have Toronto Maple Leafs’ legend Börje Salming on hand as a special guest at the opening ceremonies.
In 2012, the tournament welcomed a record 62 teams and more than 800 players of all ages competing in eight divisions. It marked the first year of ticket sales with over 450 spectators paying admission. The tournament was won for the second time by the Toronto Vikings, who narrowly edged 2011 champs Hamilton Public Enemies 7-6 in the final. The Vikings roster was noteworthy as it featured Rasmus Sundstedt and Mattias Samuelsson who went on to win the World Floorball Championship with Team Sweden later in the year while Hamilton played with a completely Canadian squad.
2013 marks the 10th year anniversary of the Canada Cup. To celebrate, the tournament has moved back to downtown Toronto. The venue is the Mattamy Athletic Centre, formely know as the historic Maple Leaf Gardens, where the Toronto Maple Leafs won 11 Stanley Cups. The tournament introduces a new ninth division for Midget age youth players.
Join us for an unforgettable experience at the Canada Cup, North America’s premier floorball event!  


Zatím nebyl přidán žádný komentář

Napsat komentář

O nás Kontakty